CARL logo
CARL logo
About Us
The Association
For Members
2014 Conference

Proceedings Now Available!

CARL Conference 2014 logo two human brains exchanging flying cog wheels

Thanks to all of our presenters, sponsors, and our hard working volunteers for a great conference! Here are the Proceedings. You can also relive the 2014 CARL Conference, Leadership in Action, via the conference Blog or Sessions list.


Scholarship News

Congratulations to This Year's Ilene F. Rockman CARL/ACRL Conference Scholarship Winners!

California Academic & Research Libraries (CARL), the California-based chapter of ACRL, is pleased to announce Andea G. Barkley and Sharon Cheslow as the 2014 winners of the Ilene F. Rockman CARL Conference Scholarship. The award is named in honor of Ilene F. Rockman (1950 – 2005), a librarian, speaker, and author known for her many contributions to library science.

2014 Award Announcement

Andrea G. Barkley is currently earning her MLIS at the University of Washington’s iSchool through their distance-learning program. Throughout her graduate work Ms. Barkley has been particularly interested in exploring the intersections of race, class, gender, technology, and accessibility.

Sharon Cheslow is an MLIS student at San Jose State University, with graduate studies in the Music School at California Institute of the Arts (CalArts). She interned at UCLA's Ethnomusicology Archive and the CalArts Institute Archive.

As recipients of the Ilene F. Rockman CARL Conferene Scholarship, both Ms. Barkley and Ms. Cheslow will receive $500 awards to subsidize their attendance at the CARL Conference 2014, taking place April 4-6 at the Dolce Hayes Mansion in San Jose, California.

Ilene F. Rockman CARL/ACRL Conference Scholarship Committee, 2013-14:
Daniel Ransom, Committee Chair, Holy Names University
Lucy Bellamy, Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising
Annette Young, Chaffey College
Janet Pinkley, California State University, Channel Islands



A warm welcome to our newly elected board members!

  • Southern Vice President: Shana Higgins, University of Redlands
  • Secretary: Debi Hoffman, CSU Channel Islands
  • Membership Director: Melissa Browne, UC Davis
  • Director-at-Large, Community Colleges:
         Erika Montenegro, East Los Angeles College
  • Director-at-Large, Private Colleges & Universities:
         Annie Knight, Chapman University

Also, the referendum to change the election year passed.

A big thanks to those who ran and those who voted!

2013 CARL Nominating & Elections Committee
Allison Carr
Kathlene Hanson
Billy Pashaie
Rob Sage


A New Service for Members

CARL Mentoring Program

CARL has a brand new mentoring program, designed to match new librarians with veterans in the field, who are willing to share advice and their accumulated professional expertise. Librarianship's mission has never been complex or difficult to grasp, but the means by which librarians create, preserve and organize collections to make them available to those who seek them, has never been more complicated and multi-faceted. CARL's mentoring program will help new librarians gain confidence and understanding of California's dynamic academic culture, and generate good practices for careers and ongoing professional development.


CARL Conference 2012


The CARL Conference 2012 Proceedings are now available.

Many thanks to the presenters for writing and sharing these. They provide a useful record of the learning experiences from the conference, as well as opportunities for further learning for attendees and non-attendees alike.

Best wishes from the Proceedings Team,

Kathlene Hanson
Stephanie Rosenblatt
Gayatri Singh
Michele Van Hoeck

Renew Membership logo

Have you seen the CARL Newsletter?

Get the latest information on what your colleagues are up to in the
October 2014 issue.

Become a Fan on Facebook

Read about upcoming events and more on the CARL Facebook page.

© Copyright 2010 California Academic & Research Libraries Association. All Rights Reserved.